Arlene Powers Bird Art and Discussion Site

Hubby takes me to the Palo Verde Cancer Center Monday at 1PM to start chemo. Neither one of us quite know what to expect, even though we have been given reams of information, TMI. So I pick a recliner, get hooked up to my port and meds are administered for three hours, I am given shots to help with the worst side effects, steroids to help swelling and healing, anti nausea medication good for 48 hours and a medicine to stop cramping, and fluids. 20140930_122647Then at the end of the session I am hooked up to a portable unit, which will still keep pumping meds for 48 hours. We come back Wed to have the unit removed then have a 90 minute session, and I am free for a whole week.

So Monday on coming home, I felt better then I have in ages. That must have been some steroid! Had a nice dinner sleep all night, then woke up to cramping and dry heaving. NOT fun. Luckily I had some meds to address this, started taking them, and much better day…..Just tired. Wed after having portable pump out, came home napped a little and actually felt like eating dinner! It is Thursday, and I feel better than I have since the diagnosis! At this rate, I will be back to drawing and painting soon! Thanks again for all of your prayers, positive thoughts, and good wishes! I am so Thankful for the advances in cancer treatment.

Comments on: "The war with cancer continues….First chemo session." (7)

  1. Just caught up with your posts. My heart hurt when I read your news. I am a retired oncology RN and worked in oncology research for over 15 years. Some tidbits…..take it in baby steps, one day at a time; stay positive and combative, do some deep breathing through the nausea, and know that in the past 20 years, cancer is becoming a chronic disease, not a terminal one. The research going on is phenomenal. My prayers and all the positive thoughts I can send across this country are with you. I look forward to your “pows” and that final knock out!!!!!

  2. “Try to exclude the possibility of suffering which the order of nature and the existence of free-wills involve, and you find that you have excluded life itself”
    ― C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain

  3. A million hugs! Love, Maggie-

  4. This cancer thing is a bummer…ZAP – BOOM – POW!!! My prayers are at battle for you too.

    As many rabbit trails as I follow, I can’t believe this is the first time I found your Blog. The earliest entry I found was September 2011 with your Birdie WIP. Is that when you started Blogging? Looks like I have reading material for quite a while now. I didn’t know you were an author along with all your other talents. We want to keep you around for a long time to come.

    • Hi Judy! Nice to see you here! Thanks so much for the prayers! Yes, I think that is when I transferred my stuff from FB to here and started officially blogging! Baaaam!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

